A Guide to Understanding The 7 Chakras

A Guide to Understanding The 7 Chakras

If you have attended a group meditation, yoga class or participated in a reiki session, the instructors and practitioners most likely touched on chakras. Chakras are a complex and ancient energy system that derive from India. They are energy points within our bodies, corresponding to bundles of nerves, major organs, and other areas within our bodies responsible for our physical and emotional well-being. There are 7 main chakras that run along our spines with a specific allocation, name, and number.

  1. The Root Chakra

Location: It’s on the base of the spine, and the first three vertebrae.

What it is: Consider your root chakra as the foundation of a house, but in this instance, your body. It’s responsible for your sense of security and survival. The root is also connected with aspects that you use to ground yourself such as basic survival needs including food, water, shelter, as well as emotional needs.

When it’s blocked: When the root chakra is blocked, you can feel anxiety disorders and fears.

  1. The Sacral Chakra

Location: It’s above the pubic bone and below the naval.

What it is: The Sacral chakra is responsible for housing our emotions, passions, and pleasures. These are things that give us joy and is referred to as the creative and sexual energy centre of our bodies. When the sacral chakra is aligned, you’ll likely feel friendly and joyful.

When it’s blocked: You’ll possibly feel uninspired creatively and have emotional instability.

  1. The Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: From the navel to around the ribcage, involved with everything stomach related

What it is: The third chakra is referred to as your source of individual power, responsible for your self-esteem. It focuses on your individual willpower, commitment, and personal power.

When it’s blocked: You can struggle with low self-esteem, have difficulty with decision making and may have anger or control issues.

  1. The Heart Chakra

Location: The centre of the heart, the lungs, and the breasts.

What it is: The fourth chakra is the central chakra and represents where the physical and spiritual meet. When the heart chakra is aligned and balanced, love and compassion will flow freely, both in terms of giving out and getting it.

When it’s blocked: A closed heart chakra can lead to anger, grief, jealousy, hatred towards yourself and others.

  1. The Throat Chakra

Location: Your throat

What it is: The fifth chakra is about speaking your inner truth. The throat chakra rules all communication.

When it’s blocked: You might find it hard to truly express yourself. You may instead choose to swallow your words, which leads to swallowing your true feelings.

  1. The Third Eye Chakra

Location: Between the eyebrows

What it is: The sixth chakra is said to be responsible for your intuition. It allows you to get rid of any illusions and drama to see the clear picture.

When it’s blocked: You may struggle with accessing your intuition, trusting your inner voice, remembering important facts or learning new skills.

  1. The Crown Chakra

Location: The top of the head

What is its: The crown is the centre of enlightenment and the spiritual connection to your higher self, others and the divine.

When it’s blocked: You may feel a sense of disconnection which leads to lack of direction and purpose in life.

Comments are closed.